What are the words

What are the words I could use to describe my Dad? There are so many!

Kind, generous, brilliant, loving, hero, inspiration, teacher, father, friend, faithful, servant, scout, adventurer, bold, make a good start.

But as I sit here, bedside, with the knowledge that he is dying, I don’t know what to say. I want to ask him questions and hear him tell the old stories again. I want him to tell me how he hopes to be remembered. I want to hear him tell me he loves me and he’s proud of me. I don’t want to let him go, but I don’t want him to suffer.

I want to tell him in every word how much he means to me. How thankful I am for him. What an impact he made in my life and in the lives of others. I want him to know he will be remembered and always loved.

I have told him, over the years, all of these things. I don’t want him ever to forget these things.

What are the words he longs to hear?

What does he need from me in these moments?

How can I make this better for him?

The tender touch.

The hand held.

The brow caressed.

The body turned with gentle care for comfort.

The oxygen line rearranged on the face.

The kiss on the forehead.

The touch on the shoulder.

The actions. The words. They say the same thing.

“I love you.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What are the words

  1. Oh, Grace. Such a tender, tender time. Your list is lovely – love in soft action. But love in words can happen at this time, this place. Hearing is always present, even when cognition is not – so say the words you long to say: “I love you – I thank you – I release you, though it tears me in pieces to do so.” May God’s peace fill that room, fill your heart, carry your dad home.

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

