#269-flock

I’m playing a day late, but, so what? It’s another Sunday Scribblings entry. To play along you get the prompt of the week, usually a single word, and you write whatever comes to mind. Then you link up with the other players.

The shepherds watched their flocks by night.

The crowds flocked to see what spectacle was happening.

Get the flock outta here!!!

The Christmas tree was flocked with white spray-on fake snow.

So many ways to use “flock”, but the one that sticks to me is the shepherding aspect. I was a shepherd of sorts, for many years working in the church. My flocks have been children, youth groups, knitters, committees, the elderly and infirm, and the congregation in general. I’ve done my share of tending the flock.

These days I’m a flock-less-shepherd. My flock is now the two children my husband and I gave life to and my work is tending to them. I’m waiting now to see what the next call will be and if it will include a flock of people or a flock of paperwork. Who knows? I’m okay with this.

If I had room for it in my back yard, I might consider a flock of sheep. I think it would be interesting to have a hand-to-mouth relationship with the source of my knitting wool. As far as I know, there are no sheepherders in my family tree, but there are knitters. My Nana knit and crocheted. My Grandma was also a knitter, I think (I never knew her). Dad told me she taught him to knit as a child. But as far as I know, they never owned the sheep whose fleece they knit.

Excepting of course the fleece of a different kind of sheep. My Nana had a beautiful, fluffy and energetic Samoyed named Sally. Sally had a lovely thick coat of long white fur. Nana brushed her everyday (you see where this is headed don’t you?!). She faithfully saved those fur brushings for months, maybe even years, I don’t really know how long. But when she had collected enough, she sent it off to the processor where it was carded, cleaned and spun into knitting wool. It made a fine, angora like sweater at the hands of my Nana’s knitting needles.

I don’t know what happened to that sweater, but I’m sure Nana had it for many years. I imagine she wore it in the home for aged while she watched tv, her main company in her latter years. Nana had MS, but on her better days she did knit and crochet, making dolls and clothes for them, vests for her grandchildren and whatever else struck her fancy. Thankfully, she taught my Mum to knit and my Mum taught me. Now it’s part of my journey, and one way in which I can touch others and discover a new kind of flock-tending.

I don’t know if I have any direct connections to those who have served in the military, so on this Memorial Day (in the USA), I give thanks to those who undoubtedly supported the efforts of those who gave their lives and days to the ANZACS (ANZAC Day was April 25). My cousin has recently completed his training for the RAAF reserves. I pray he never is called into action.

May there be peace for all of God’s flock (and by that I mean everyone on earth).

This entry was posted in Sunday Scribblings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #269-flock

  1. Altonian says:

    What an interesting ramble through your memories. I’ll bet that angora sweater was warm. Lovely tale.

    • Grace Walker says:

      I think my Mum has a photo somewhere of Nana wearing the sweater, but we can’t agree on when she did it…sometime in the late 70s I think.

  2. Lilibeth says:

    Being a pastor’s wife, I understand so many of the sentiments you have expressed, not the knitting though. That’s a skill I’ll probably not ever master.

    • Grace Walker says:

      Thanks for your comments, I’ll bet you do know (wink, wink). It took me a long time to get the hang of knitting, but now I enjoy it (even if I do tend to stick with easier patterns that don’t require lots of shaping or lots of yarn!).

  3. Jingle says:

    creative one.

    bless families and friends who have lost loved ones.
    Cheers,

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

