Lest I forget

GypsyMama has served up another Five Minute Friday prompt! That’s right, five minutes of all out, no-holds-barred, bare-faced, passion-pouring, writing without critical thought. Link up with the logo.

Here goes…..On Forgetting

Lest I forget, the first time I held you or kissed your scrunchy, new born face. Lest I forget the first time you spoke a word or called me mom. Lest I forget how much I love even when I am angry over something you have done.

I get reminded. Reminded when you are hurt and your eyes spill tears. Reminded when I realize you are injured and need to see a doctor.

Reminded when you do something unexpected that shows me just how much you have grown and matured.

Reminded when you grab my hand and pull me off my chair to see your latest discovery.

Reminded when you ask me to remember to take you with me on my walk.

Reminded when you ask me to please make your favorite meal.

Reminded when you hug and kiss me goodnight and thank me for the story, the present, the great time we had today.

Lest I forget how much my heart overflows with every bit, growing love for you, I am reminded of the silly thing you said that makes me laugh, or the time you spilled chocolate covered raisins all over the floor and then ate them.

Lest I forget how much you mean to me, you come in and tell how much you need me still.

Lest I forget, God brings us together in a tender moment so precious and gracious that my heart breaks open wider so that it can hold even more love for you.

{for my boys}

This entry was posted in Five Minute Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lest I forget

  1. Heidi Bowman says:

    I have goosebumps. I relate to you in so many ways.

    • Grace Walker says:

      After J’s concussion yesterday I just about cried writing this one.

    • Grace Walker says:

      My kindy-boy is a little rubber man– he always bounces back! Of course, I’m still watching over him and telling him how he needs to be careful, no wheels or trampolines for a week. Which, of course, is very hard for a 6 year old!

  2. deidra says:

    Oh, those priceless moments! Absolutely unforgettable!

  3. Sarah says:

    I, like you, am desperate to remember all those small and big things that make up a childhood. Beautiful post!

  4. patti morfeld says:

    right to the point-it is so easy to forget and miss the truly important things…thanks for writing

  5. Coley says:

    Popped over from Lisa Jo’s…… Oh wow, that’s just beautiful.

  6. Lindy Nelson-Paryag says:

    This is beautiful…weepy beautiful good..love you!

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

