#267- Surrender

“Mommy’s alright, Daddy’s alright, they just seem a little weird.                                         Surrender, surrender, but don’t give yourself away” ~Cheap Trick, 1978

Funny the connections our brains make when presented with a single word, huh?

It is known that music holds a different place in the brain than spoken language, which is why stroke patients, dementia and Alzheimer’s patients are often able to sing a familiar song even when they aren’t able to converse.

Thus is the power of a word!

Surrender, surrender, but don’t give yourself away. A teen anthem of the 1970/80s.

Digging deeper still, surrender connects me to another song, learned in my late 20s (thank you to Andra Moran & Josh Elson for teaching me this one)…

Give Yourself to Love by Kate Wolf

Chorus: “So give yourself to love, if love is what you’re after.                                                                         Open up your heart to the tears and laughter,                                                                                     And give yourself to love, give yourself to love.”

Only this time the surrender is the giving oneself away. I’m beginning to see my life pattern here. As a teen, I wanted desperately to be loved and in love, but it was such an incredible risk that while I might have surrendered a little bit, I definitely didn’t give myself away. But by my late 20s, I was more assured and had found the guy who I was willing to give myself away to, my surrender. Unfortunately, I didn’t learn Kate’s song until about 3 months after my wedding so I didn’t get to use it there.

Deeper even, there is another surrender. This one is harder still as it is the deepest surrender of all. It is the surrendering of my will to God. This one happens over and over, and then I realize that I keep taking it back and trying to do things on my own. The good thing is that God knows and understands this part and welcomes me back every time. It’s still about love.

And in spite of the fact that Kate Wolf wrote the song for her friend’s wedding, it could just as easily have been written about finding a relationship with God.

Here’s the full lyrics for the song (thanks to traditionalmusic.co.uk). It’s available on iTunes.

Give Yourself to Love
(Kate Wolf)

Kind friends all gathered 'round, there's something I would say
What brings us together here has blessed us all today
Love has made a circle, that holds us all inside
When strangers are as family, Loneliness can't hide

cho: You must give yourself to love
     If love is what you're after
     Open up your hearts, to the tears and laughter
     And give yourself to love, give yourself to love

I've walked these mountains in the rain
I've learned to love the wind
I've been up before the sunrise to watch the day begin

I always knew I'd find you though I never did know how
Like sunshine on a cloudy day you stand before me now.
cho: So give yourself to love...

Love is born in fire; It's planted like a seed
Love can't give you everything, But it gives you what you need
Love comes when you are ready, love comes when you're afraid
it will be your greatest teacher, the best friend you have made

cho: So give yourself to love...
Cheating just a little, I'm linking this with two groups...
This entry was posted in Storytelling Tuesdays, Sunday Scribblings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #267- Surrender

  1. Old Egg says:

    Surrendering is a form of freedom by getting rid of the angst within you and moving on. Great post. Thanks for your visit.

  2. Jae Rose says:

    Old Egg summed your wonderful post more succinctly then I ever could..songs and words often cross over into wider meanings..sometimes I wonder if the people who write even know or if it’s a subliminal/unconscious knowledge or yearning..Jae

  3. Andra says:

    So beautiful.

  4. the yielding of oneself is the picture of intimacy, when reciprocated. it’s so wonderfully strange that in yielding to God we find our very selves.

    so glad you linked (and it’s not cheating:)

  5. Grace Walker says:

    Thanks y’all!

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

