Five Minutes on Motherhood

Motherhood should come with…

…a sense of adventure! How many adventures could we have and how much better would our lives be if we faced each day as a new adventure?

…automatic scrapbooking that at the end of each day downloads the best parts of your day and preserves them on paper for you to look back to for help remembering all those special moments we inevitably forget to write down or capture with a camera.

…a forgiveness button, not so much for the children but for ourselves. If we are able to forgive our own shortcomings, and then learn from them, we’ll be better able to teach our children well, so that we’ll have fewer events that need to be forgiven.

…”I’m sorry” said more easily. We screw up, it’s unavoidable, but we also have to know when to, and be able to, say “I’m sorry.” Though we might want our kids to think we are perfect, they know and can see that we are not. Sometimes they point it out and we are caught. Being able to say “I’m sorry” teaches humility and grace, don’t we all need more humility and grace?

…shared joy in the small things. What better way to show encouragement than by letting the joy spill forth for even little things?

…thanks. Thanks for our children, for our partners, ourselves, our faith, everything!

It’s another Five Minute Friday of prompted, no-holds-barred, flat out, spilled passion into words. Jump in and join the fun with:

This entry was posted in Five Minute Fridays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Five Minutes on Motherhood

  1. Stephanie says:

    Great post. I wrote about a yes button, but I love your idea of a forgiveness button. Thanks!

  2. I LOVE this – instant, daily scrapbooking. Yes, please. And that sense of adventure – both would be fabulous to have. Thanks for these good words.

  3. Hilary says:

    Yes, lots of adventures! And lots of scrapbooking, and the forgiveness button. I loved all your images!! Thank you for stopping by my blog today – I’m excited to read more of your writing!

  4. Suzy says:

    I love your post! The scrapbooking button is my favorite!

  5. Grace Walker says:

    Thanks for stopping by ladies! I appreciate you reading my post. : )

  6. Amy says:

    There are so many things I love about your post. But the opening bit about a sense of adventure really got me. I live too safely, wanting too much control. I think I’d be better at a lot of things with a healthier dose of an adventurous perspective. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today. Always love reading your 5MF posts! Smiles –

    • Grace Walker says:

      Thanks, Amy!
      When my oldest was a baby, I worked in a job that required some travel. My baby went with me on some of those trips and I would also tell him we were going on an adventure. It really helped me be ready for just about anything that came our way… usually security checks were the most challenging! That and breastfeeding.
      Smiles to you too. : )

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

