What’s black & orange & nasty inside?

(This post is an answer to the Plinky prompt “Which would you rather give up, Halloween or Easter candy?”)

Don’t even show it to me, I might just gag on the spot!

Check out the Houston Press blog post on the Top 5 Worst Halloween Candies

I would definitely give up the evil that is known as ‘peanut butter taffy‘. My mom bought it every year to give out at Halloween. I think she bought it because she knew we all hated it and if we found it before Halloween night we wouldn’t dare eat it. Their orange and black wax paper wrappers brought forth cries of disappointment and horror in our household.

It makes me wonder if there were kids who avoided our house because of the cursed stuff.

On the other hand, you can get almost all the same treats and flavors at Easter now so I wouldn’t have to give up all the other Halloween flavors that are tasty. Then of course, I do love the spicy Brach jellybeans. You know, the classic ones that taste like peppermint, spearmint, clove, licorice (I hear some of you making yucky noises, cut it out!). And then there are Jelly Belly jelly beans for those of discerning taste. (But I DO NOT like the Smuckers or the Jolly Rancher or Starburst jellybeans….they put WAY TOO MUCH flavor concentrate in those!)

And, of course, there are the chocolate bunnies. The good kind, like Lindt. Don’t bring me any of that Palmer or Frankie chalk-olate. Nastiness!

And I could do with a Cadbury cream or caramel egg. Just leave out those elongated, hard shell candy coated things. You know the ones I’m talking about. Pastel, individually wrapped, bite through like a sugar cube. Gives me the shivers just thinking about them!

And thankfully, as I alluded to above, most of the confectioners are making “fun size” packs of the same candies we enjoy at Halloween. Think m&m’s, kit-kats, snickers, etc. You can get just about all of them for both now. Even Peeps come in versions for other holidays!

Powered by Plinky     You can play along too!

This entry was posted in Plinky, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

