A Woman’s Place

This woman’s place is changing. In the past I’ve made my place in school as a student, in organizations as a member and leader, in home as the youngest child and only girl, in the corporate world as a trusted employee. But the place that seemed to make the most sense was in the church as a minister. I started out basically being a youth pastor as a way to confirm my call, then headed to divinity school and worked my way through to ordination.

Now, even in my Mainline denomination in the 1990s, there were still people who did not think women should be ordained. These folks were quiet about it and were relatively new to the denomination. They didn’t know that the first ordinations of women in our communion took place in the mid-late 1800s. I can tell you one of the greatest compliments I have ever received came from one of those folks.

A man in his late 40s, who had been raised in a denomination that didn’t ordain women, was in a discussion group I was leading. His step-daughter was in the youth group I oversaw. At the end of our discussion (I believe it was a discussion about whether or not to purchase new hymnals for the church), he stopped me and said, “You know, I never believed that women should be ministers, but I think you are changing my mind.” Wow! I knew that was a very high compliment and I thanked him for it. I was humbled and proud at the same moment. I had just been doing what I do, using the gifts God gave me, and surprise! Here is the most genuine compliment I think I had ever received.

Fast forward 16 years. I am now a wife to a clergyman/chaplain and mother to two young boys. I developed a love for preaching and pastoral care, but for this season I’m on a kind of sabbatical from professional ministry. My role as wife and mother is now dominant and I’m in the process of restoring my health. But God isn’t finished with me yet! I’m not at all sure what God is preparing for me and me for; but I recently had a dream about it. Whatever it is, I know I will love it. And I also got the sense from my dream, that while I may be putting professional ministry on the back burner for a time, it will always be there for me to come back to. For this woman, my place is wherever God wants me to be!

Thanks to ShoutLaughLove for the prompt today. Join in her Tuesday prompts at

This entry was posted in Storytelling Tuesdays, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Woman’s Place

  1. “my place is wherever God wants me to be”–absolutely!

    funny how similar our journeys have been:) i’d love to go to seminary one day–although my goals would be more intellectual/personal than professional. i guess we’ll see what happens…

    thank you so much for sharing this story with us!

    (i think your link was broken, though. i only got here by logging into my simply linked account. i think i fixed it now…hopefully it will bring some traffic now:)

    • Grace Walker says:

      Thanks Suzannah!
      Seminary was a long journey, 5 1/2 years. I served churches PT and had a FT job in wireless communications, but somehow I managed to also meet and date the man who became my husband. All that schooling was definitely edifying, and few would describe it as a place for spiritual growth, but I did grow through the process. So many reputable schools now offer online courses. It’s not quite the same as being in the classroom, but you might still enjoy it! No time like the present, eh?

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

