Lesson Learned Long Ago

The plinky.com prompt for today is “what childhood lesson has always stuck with you?”.

Big lesson- thou shalt not steal. My mom had a friend who worked in a really nice Hallmark gift shop. Mom liked to go in there often, to see her friend and to buy cards and gifts. My mom is a big card sender. Well, one day when we were in the store I saw this cute little ladybug ring and I told my mom I wanted it. I think I was about 5 years old at the time. She said no and told me to put it back.

I couldn’t take no for an answer. I had to have the ladybug. I didn’t have anything like it and my little fingers just itched to wear that ladybug ring. I don’t know how much it cost, but it didn’t matter, at this stage I didn’t even get an allowance yet. I was determined to have that ladybug ring. It’s shiny red round body with black polka dots and antennae belonged on my hand. It just did!

While mom was talking to her friend, I slipped the ring into my hand and from my hand to my pocket and then out to the car where I hid it under the seat. For some reason, I wasn’t very bright, but I was proud of my accomplishment. I waited in the car for mom and when she came out, I showed her the ring.

Did I really think she would be okay with that?! Evidently, I thought she’d think I was magic, which of course, she didn’t. Instead, she told me to take the ring back into the store, tell her friend what I had done and apologize for being such a naughty girl.

Oh, the embarrassment! Somehow I managed to crawl back into the store with a mouth and face full of shame. I put the ring back, admitted I had taken it and said I was sorry. My mom’s friend was a very prim and proper Southern lady, with an accent to match. She accepted my apology and expressed the hope that I would not do it again. Not only had I disappointed my mom, but my mom’s friend as well.

That was a long time ago, but I’ve never forgotten it.

This entry was posted in Plinky, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

