Five Minute Fridays- Waking Up

The first time I woke up this morning was about 5 when I sensed the arrival of a little one at my bedside. Sometimes I think he sleepwalks and ends up at my side. He curled up beside me and I didn’t resist; much as I didn’t want to interrupt my own sleep. He is 6 and I know these days, nights, will end soon; in fact, he does this so much less than he used to.

My baby boy is a close sleeper. He can’t be in the bed without being almost on top of me- a leg over my hip; shift, an arm over my neck; shift, head tucked under my chin. The blankets and the boy made me too warm, and I put off the urge to uncover for as long as I could stand it. When I realized I wasn’t sleeping, I readjusted my situation and fell back to sleep. Listening to his gentle breath brought me as much comfort as being next to his mom brought him. A sacred space for mother and child.

Thank you God, for little boys who love their mom enough to cuddle even in their dreams.

Thanks to http://thegypsymama.com for the weekly prompts that inspire my 5 minutes of no-holds-barred, flat out writing. The image holds a live link to her site.

This entry was posted in Five Minute Fridays, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Minute Fridays- Waking Up

  1. Amy says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this. I have 2 boys and 1 girl and time spent in the early mornings with one of them cuddled close are some of my most precious memories. You’re right, it’s a sacred space. And one I am equally thankful for!

  2. Grace Walker says:

    Thanks for stopping by Amy! My husband usually sends the boys back to their own beds, so my baby has figured out if he slips in on the side instead of the middle he has a better chance of getting away with it. : )

  3. how i love those boy-babe snuggles:) my toddler still nurses and he is still such a baby to me. i cherish the moments, knowing it won’t last. (and i hear him stir now, upstairs…)

    are you brand new to blogging or just starting over? either way, congrats on a brand new space:)

I can't wait to read your comment! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your thoughts.

